A Digital Hub is a physical location where different players with a direct relationship to or interest in digital and technological themes gather to exchange experience and information, and work on joint projects. In the case of the Digital Hub Initiative, there are twelve Digital Hubs in sixteen cities which are dedicated to a range of industry-specific key issues.

The Digital Hubs are run by independent operators that are their own legal entities. Some of them were founded by individuals, whereas other Digital Hubs are backed by research institutions and municipal authorities.

Each potential Digital Hub specified its own industry-specific work focus when it applied. Generally speaking, these focuses relate to a dominant branch of industry or the research speciality of academic institutions in the area.

Organisations with an interest in applying were invited to send their applications to the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy as potential Digital Hub locations by March 2017. The BMWi made their decisions about the applications on the basis of an objective catalogue of criteria, and with support from an independent panel of experts from the digital and technology industries.

The application period is over. For the time being, no more cities can apply to be Digital Hubs.

The German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy will finance the Hub Agency (RCKT), as well as the GTAI over the course of three years. The Digital Hubs are financed by private supporters and partners, and through the development of their own innovation programmes.

Ein Digital Hub ist ein physischer Ort, an dem verschiedene Akteure mit direktem Bezug oder direkter Affinität zu Digital- und Technologiethemen zusammenkommen, um sich auszutauschen und gemeinsam an Projekten zu arbeiten. Im Falle der Digital Hub Initiative handelt es sich um zwölf Digital Hubs in 16 Städten, die sich verschiedenen branchenspezifischen Schwerpunktthemen widmen.

Träger der Digital Hubs sind unabhängige Betreibergesellschaften mit eigener Rechtspersönlichkeit. Während einige von Einzelpersönlichkeiten gegründet wurden, stehen hinter anderen Digital Hubs Forschungseinrichtungen oder Städte.

Die branchenspezifischen Arbeitsschwerpunkte haben die Digital Hub-Standorte selbst bei der Bewerbung festgelegt. Sie ergeben sich in der Regel aus einem dominanten Wirtschaftszweig oder Forschungsschwerpunkt wissenschaftlicher Einrichtungen vor Ort.

Interessierte Organisationen konnten sich bis März 2017 als potenzieller Digital Hub-Standort beim Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie bewerben. Anhand eines objektiven Kriterienkatalogs entschied das BMWi mit Unterstützung eines unabhängigen Experten-Beirats aus der Digital- und Technologiebranche über die Bewerbungen.

Der Bewerbungszeitraum ist abgelaufen. Vorerst können sich keine weiteren Städte bewerben.

Das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie finanziert die Hub Agency (RCKT) als zentralen Betreiber, sowie die GTAI für die internationale Vermarktung der Initiative über einen Zeitraum von drei Jahren. Die Digital Hubs finanzieren sich durch private Träger und Partner und die Entwicklung von eigenen Innovationsprogrammen.